Users are managed per project, and are not to be confused for Team Users.
Users are invited to your project and are unique per project. You can invite users using the API, or the dashboard. This article is about using the dashboard. You can invite users by clicking the "Invite User" tile in the Users section of the developer dashboard.This will open a modal window asking for a nickname and a reference_id.
The nickname is required and can be anything you'd like - it's not shown in the app and the user does not know the nickname that you set. The nickname is something for you to easily see and correlate a record. A common nickname is the username from your system of record.
The reference_id is optional and can also be anything you'd like - it is also not shown in the app and the user does not know the reference_id that you set. The reference_id is another field that you can use to reference the user record. This can be a database row id, for example.
Once you create an invite in the dashboard, you will be presented with a window like the image below
The Show QR Code button will show the QR code image that can be scanned to invite the user. You can copy this image from the web page and send via email, text or any other method you choose.
The Invite Link is an alternative to the QR code. This invite link can be send via email, text or any other method you choose, and when the user clicks on the link, the user will be required to sign in, then accept the invite.
Both methods require the app to be installed. If the app is not installed, the invite link will direct the user to install the app.
Invites are valid for 24 hours after creation.
You can use our client SDK to help with the invite process and stream-line on-boarding users right from your own website. For more information, see this article:
In the event you need to re-invite a user, you can do so from the dashboard or from the API. When using the API, you need to set a flag called "reset_and_reinvite".
If the user status is "pending invite" - then the current invite will be invalidated and a new invite will be created.
If the user status is "active" - then the current Auth Armor user linked to the profile will be un-associated to the profile, all enrollments will be disabled and mobile devices linked to the profile will be removed. A new invite will then be created. This should only be used if the user has lost all access to the account and you must reset access. The user will need to scan the new QR code or use the invite link to proceed.
Article is closed for comments.